Mon Amie! In Brussels!

Melissa, a.k.a. Auntie Melissa (to the kids), a.k.a. MJ, a.ka. “Miss Jones” (my favorite from her days as a school teacher) has been a part of my life since I moved to DC almost 10 years ago when I got married. She was one of the first friends I made in DC – and once again she is a friend first – the first friend to visit me overseas! I cannot tell you how much it means to have someone take time out of their life and make the effort to visit…from across the ocean! It is beyond words special. And boy was I due for some girl time! It is really no surprise that Auntie Melissa was the first to visit, having her in my life has been like winning the lottery in friendship. As a matter of routine, Melissa delivered homemade, delicious, healthy food (and lots of cupcakes) to my front door on a regular basis in DC. If I ever needed anything  – done and done. She had my back. And beyond that, Melissa has basically gone all out for every special occassion in my life – every birthday, pregnancy, etc, she has been there and made sure – to the best of her ability – that it was the most special occasion. And it has been, because she has been by my side throughout it all.

Auntie Melissa has also been a part of my kids’ lives since…the womb. She was the first to hear the news before it was official, she accompanied me on pregnancy binge eating sprees I would not let my husband witness (BLTs and 10 cent wings anyone? yes please), she threw an amazing baby shower for me, and she has supplied both the nuggets with the most fashionable wardrobes, toys, and libraries a kid could ever ask for.

As much as it was possible with two nuggets in tow, I tried my best to show her a good time! We did waffles, beer, a bus tour, the Friday market happy hour. I hope it was as fun for her as it was for me! Thank you so much for coming to see us Miss Jones! We love you! xxoo

Image 7

Thirsty girls… cheers, to girlfriends!

Image 1

Sablon with Auntie Melissa

Image 4

Morgan helping Auntie Melissa with her waffle

Image 5

Scenes from our Friday market

Image 6

First time meeting Gus! He was smitten, just acting like a tough guy for the photo!

P1070771

July 2009 Auntie Melissa and baby Morgan… she broke her “no holding babies” rule for this shot! She was a natural!

P1040732

Our last get together in DC before our recent Brussels reunion – Gus was still in the womb!

Leave a Reply

