Rice Cereal (and Grown-Up Culinary Cravings)

image

The fun of solids has begun!  Since Gus went from two months of sleeping through the night to waking up every two to three hours, the doctor gave us the green light to start some rice cereal.  As you can see from the pictures, so far mixed reviews.  Sometimes he laps it up and other times wants no part of it.  All I know is that I hope this new milestone will start producing some sleep results in the coming weeks!

As for more grown-up culinary delights, while Curt has been in Brussels enjoying crepes, waffles, and moules et frites; I have been equally enjoying mom’s cooking and having three meals a day prepared for me.  Occasionally I try to give my mom a break and treat everyone to some of my favorite foods that Carlisle, PA, has to offer.  The Carlisle Bakery has the most beautiful display cases of goodies, as you can see below. The tea cookies are as delicious as they are pretty, and Princess Morgan loves the colorful ladybug cookies.  Another favorite treat of ours is the Italian subs from Vinny’s Pizza.  The fresh baked bread is really special and makes for a sandwich that is guaranteed to rock your face off.  I ate the sandwich before I could get a picture of it. So good.

Once in a while I even like to pretend that I still know how to cook, so my mom graciously lets me in her kitchen. This week I made Scallops Provencal from (of course) the Barefoot Contessa.

In other news, only three more days until we see Curt!  And this time next week we will all be in Brussels!  Bon weekend everyone!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

